Jagdish Shettar wins Belagavi, Priyanka Jarkiholi wrests Chikkodi


BM Bureau:  Bharatiya Janata Party has won the Belagavi Parliamentary seat for the sixth consecutive time whereas the Congress has won the Chikkodi seat in the district . The BJP managed to continue its winning spree registering a landslide victory against the Congress for the 6th time in a row. Belagavi district has two MP seats.

Former Karnataka CM Jagadish Shettar bagged 7.56 lakh votes while Mrinal Hebbalkar of the Congress secured 5.80 lakh votes. It may be noted that prominent BJP leaders had opposed the candidature of Shettar, who hailed from Hubballi, despite which the votersfrom  rallied behind him unexpectedly.

In Chikkodi, Priyanka Jarkiholi of the Congress defeated the sitting MP Annasaheb Jolle of BJP by a margin of 1.10 lakh votes. Most of the votes of backward classes and minorities in Chikkodi went into Priyanka’s kitty from all the eight assembly segments in the constituency. Soon after his victory, Shettar said he had expected his victory in Belagavi. He said he would take all MLAs from Belagavi parliamentary constituency into confidence and prepare a vision document for the overall development of the constituency.

The BJP has won Belagavi seat since 2004. Late Suresh Angadi  won the elections four times and after his sudden demise due to COVID his wife Mangala Angadi had won the by elections. five times.

The Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti (MES) which had bagged a huge 1.17 lakh votes in the bypolls held in 2022 failed to make any impact as the majority of Marathi people rallied behind BJP’s Shettar this

time and the MES candidate Mahadev Patil bagged a paltry 9425 votes this time.

Meanwhile, the BJP was confident of winning the Chikkodi seat where Prime Minister Narendra Modi held a campaign weeks ahead of the polls. Despite having three party legislators out of eight segments in Chikkodi, the BJP leadership failed to take on Congress party’s Priyanka Jarkiholi.

Priyanka Jarkiholi becomes the second woman MP from Chikkodi and also creates a unique record of becoming one of the youngest MPs in the country.

Meanwhile former Karnataka speaker Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri has defeated Dr Anjali Nimbalkar of the Congress winning the Uttar Kannada (Karwar) parliamentary seat. Hegde secured 782495 votes whereas  Dr Nimbalkar secured 445067 votes.

…………….. End

Photo : Jagadish Shettar , Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri & Priyanka Jarkiholi.


Related Posts



Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

You cannot copy content of this page